Hyougushi’s Reaction & My New Project

Hyougushi received my package in the mail already! I thought it would take much longer, but I guess it was quite fast! I’ve been getting some comments on my blog about it, and Hyougushi also posted his pics and reaction to his flickr account… and he was happy! it seems like his friends all really liked it too, so I’m feeling pretty happy myself now. It feels nice making people smile and I’m glad everything worked out alright!

My next project is going to be inspired by an exhibition as well entitled “re:”. It invites book artists to submit works which take inspiration from works that being with “re”. I immediately though of recipes and so I though I could find someones blog with their recipes on it that I could make into a book so they would have them all together and be able to save them for their family to use for a long time.

I told my boyfriend about this idea, but since he is a lawyer (and works with intellectual property law), he told me that I’d better be careful of copyright, so for this project I’m going to have to ask permission from the blog author first. So in order to preserve somewhat of a surprise I’m going to ask for permission but not post any pictures of the item until they arrive at their house. That way they might know something is coming but not know when or what it will look like.

I have two blogs in mind for this project Lilahangya and My Secret Family Recipes. I found these blogs using the Technorati blog search for “secret family recipes”. I really liked Lilahangya’s blog because she writes in her blog description that “I prepare all these pages for my daughter, just in case if she needs a recipe from mum’s secret book thirty years later”. However this blog will be difficult to do I think because it is written in Hungarian, and I liked My Secret Family Recipes because it also said something similar, that is “these recipes have never been written down”.

Since I couldn’t find email addresses to either of these writers on their blogs, I’ve added comments to their latest posts and hopefully they will get back to me and won’t mind me making a book out of their recipes and submitting it to an exhibition.

3 Responses to “Hyougushi’s Reaction & My New Project”


  1. 1 Alli March 3, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    Alright dude, you’re going to have to tell me where you found those instructions!

    The idea is totally and completely amazing. You’re brilliant!

    And imagine how touched he was?

  2. 2 binding2point0 March 4, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Thanks Alli!

    I just saw a picture of a book in a similar form so I kind of just used that as a model (Hedi Kyle invented it). Here’s a link:

    http://www.karenhanmer.com/reviews/documents/BF_Flag05.pdf

    I think it’s fairly common though, sometimes called a flag book, flip-flap book, or a crisscross book.

    Yeah I got some really positive feedback from him and also his fiance, he’s got a lot of comments on his flickr page about it too, but they’re in Japanese! I’m happy he liked it though because I was afraid that maybe he’d be mad about it.

  3. 3 Alli March 17, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Oooh, I’ll have to check it out. Unfortunately, you’re not here for crafting weekends anymore!


Leave a Reply

RSS
Add to Technorati Favorites

Calendar

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

