Who is Hyougushi?

Today I became interested in who Hyougushi is, where he is from, and where I can send the book to, so the Librarian in me did a little Internet digging. From Hyougushi’s Flickr profile page I discovered:

  1. Hyougushi is a man and his name is Hideyuki Kamon (I think??).
  2. He has a blog (and with the help of the wonky Google Translator I was able to piece together a lot!)
  3. He works as a paper hanger/picture framer. This was neat to learn because like me, he also works with paper (making traditional Japanese screens and scrolls, etc.), and
  4. he enjoys Scouting.

I also found out the address of his business: Takarazuka, Hyogo Prefecture 665-0842, Japan 5-13-3 surface of the river (I’m guessing “surface of the river” means “on the river” – Google Translator is actually pretty bad!).

It was actually pretty easy to find all this info (which is kind of scary, because I know someone could probably do the same thing for me too!) but at least now I won’t have to email him in advance and ask him for his address, so sending him the book will be a complete surprise (if you are reading this please don’t spoil it by emailing him). I doubt it will be as easy to find contact info in the future for other book projects though.

Now, for some reason I feel like a stalker.

4 Responses to “Who is Hyougushi?”


  1. 1 nick February 15, 2008 at 7:32 am

    I’m a flickr contact of Hyougushi’s, and very much enjoyed what you did with his pictures. I have a feeling he is delighted as well. What a beautiful idea, and what a wonderful creation!

  2. 2 binding2point0 February 16, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Thanks Nick, how did you find my site? I really hope he enjoys it!

  3. 3 ritea February 17, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    hi, I’m Hyogushi’s fiancée living in Tokyo. (I’ll move to his town and we’ll marry in coming July.) I guess you haven’t seen his flicker for the last couple of days, right? Check it out now! You’ll see how excited he is at your wonderful gift! 😉

    Actually, he came over to Tokyo this weekend and showed me this artistic book. It’s soooooo neat, and I felt as if I was on the plane because of the cut flip thingies. I don’t know if it was your intention, but if so, it totally works to give me the vibration and unstable feelings of the airplanes.

    Thank you so much for this great gift, which made us badly want to see you one day! Good luck with the exhibition. We are crossing our fingers too!!!

  4. 4 binding2point0 February 19, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Hi Ritea!

    Thanks for writing, I’m glad you enjoy the book! I was nervous that you may not like it! Congratulations on getting married, and I will let you know what happens with the exhibition!


Leave a Reply

RSS
Add to Technorati Favorites

Calendar

January 2008
S M T W T F S
    Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

